HiOA has a new name: OsloMet – Oslo Metropolitan University. Find out what this means for you.


Curt Rice to Continue as Rector

The OsloMet board voted today to appoint Curt Rice to a new term as rector. The appointment is for a term of four years beginning in August 2019.

“The board today selected a highly qualified candidate for the position of rector, and one who both understands and effectively advocates for OsloMet’s mission,” Trine Syvertsen, the chair of the board announced a short time ago. “Curt Rice has delivered on the strategic goals he and the board have pursued during his current term—university status is a reality and the visibility of our institution has risen dramatically. Moreover, we are implementing changes that are contributing to the professionalisation of our institution,” Syvertsen continued.

“Rice’s deep familiarity with our institution and the challenges we face will help ensure that OsloMet continues its positive growth trajectory,” Syvertsen said. “I look forward to working alongside Rice as we continue the important work of developing our institution and positioning OsloMet as a key actor and partner in the Oslo region and beyond.”

Syvertsen emphasized that the search and hiring process has been a comprehensive one. “Many people have contributed time and effort to identifying qualified candidates and making a final selection,” the Chair noted.

Rice is Excited to Continue as Rector


“I’m truly happy to have been given the chance to serve a new term as rector. I am fortunate to have a job that is so profoundly meaningful, gives me motivation and challenges me at every turn,” said Rice.

Curt Rice began as rector in August 2015. Prior to this, he was Professor of Linguistics at the University of Tromsø (UiT).

At the start of his tenure, Rice said he was looking forward to write the next chapter of the institution’s history together with students, faculty, staff and external partners. In Rice’s view, OsloMet is in the midst of an exciting new chapter, one that he is looking forward to continuing to write.

“We have come a long way these last three years—we have become a university, increased our visibility, and are constantly working to elevate the quality of our educational programs and research endeavors,” Rice noted. I am excited to continue this important work, in addition to pursuing new strategic aims in other areas.”

“More than anything else,” Rice went on, “I’m excited to continue working alongside all of my capable colleagues at OsloMet. I have had the privilege of getting to know many of you these past three years, and I’m looking forward to getting to know even more of you in the years ahead. I’m so grateful for the hard work all of you do.”

A Comprehensive Search

The board elected to conduct its rector search at this relatively early stage to give the successful candidate the chance to participate actively in the selection of his or her vice-rectors, as well as several other key members of the university management.

Twenty-five members of the university community were actively involved in the selection process. They were also present during the final round of interviews. Six of them conducted the interviews themselves and made their final recommendation to the board.

The selection committee comprised:

  • Trine Syvertsen, chair (external member of the board)
  • Bjørn Harald Hegreberg Garborg (student representative)
  • Arne Dulsrud (faculty representant)
  • Astrid Skjerven (faculty representant)
  • Erik Dahlgren (union representative)
  • Lars Eirik Vorland (staff representative)

The advisory committee was made up of the following members:

  • Julie Reinemo, Sook Berge Buer, Rolf Martin Aspenes and John Dela Siayor (student representatives)
  • Silje Bringsrud Fekjær, Professor (Center for the Study of the Professions)
  • Elisabeth Eide, Professor and Kjetil A. van der Wel, Associate Professor (Faculty of Social Sciences)
  • Marcela Montserrat, Assistant Professor and Arnfinn Vonen, Professor (Faculty of Education and International Studies)
  • Cecilie Johannessen Landmark, Associate Professor and Svein Eikeseth, Professor, (Faculty of Health Sciences)
  • Kirsten Ribu, Associate Professor (Faculty of Technology, Art and Design)
  • Anders S. Lyng (union representative NTL)
  • Mona Sinding-Larsen (union representative Akademikerne)
  • Liv Ingunn Bråten (union representative Parat)
  • Tor Arne Dahl (Head of Department, Faculty of Social Sciences)
  • Cathrine Døcher (Senior Advisor, Faculty of Education and International Studies)
  • Lene Bomann-Larsen (Head of Section, Faculty of Technology, Art and Design)
  • Unni Hembre (Head of Department, Faculty of Health Sciences)
Published: Updated: